Skip Navigation

74th Annual Meeting In Carmel A Great Success

Fresno, CA — The California Grape & Tree Fruit League hosted its 74th Annual Meeting at Carmel Valley Ranch located in Carmel, California on March 21-23.

During the three-day event a new Chairman of the Board took the helm after Marko S. Zaninovich (Marko Zaninovich, Inc.) served as Chairman during the 2009/10 fiscal year. Chairman David Marguleas (Sun World International, LLC) is the new Chairman of the Board and will serve during the 2010/11 fiscal year.

The purpose of the League’s Annual Meeting is to provide an opportunity for all League members to network and share best practices as members of the fresh produce industry. It was during the Annual Membership Luncheon Meeting that the 49-member Board of Directors and new officers were elected to serve for a one-year term for the new fiscal year. This year more than 225 guests were in attendance. Two new Board members were approved to serve on the Board. Maria Alvarado (Maria Alvarado Farms) and Scott Wallace (Fruit Patch, Inc.) were nominated by the Nominating Committee and subsequently approved at the Membership Meeting on Monday, March 22. The League’s Board meets on a quarterly basis to take action on regulatory and legislative issues at the state, federal and international level.

During the Annual Membership Meeting Luncheon on Monday, March 22, League President Barry Bedwell announced the resignation of two Board members who served consistently for a number of years. Phil Herbig, Enns Packing Co., Inc., was recognized for serving on the Board from 2004 to 2010. Sarkis Sarabian, Sarabian Farms, served on the Board of Directors from 1981 to 2010 and served as Chairman of the Board during the 1989/90 fiscal year.

Other business that took place included the appointment of the League’s Executive Committee, which is the governing body that makes formal recommendations to the Board. The following individuals were elected to serve a one-year term on the Executive Committee: Chairman- Steve Hash (Steve Hash Farms) and Committee members – Chris Caratan (M. Caratan, Inc.); Carol Chandler (Chandler Farms, LP); David Jackson (Family Tree Farms); David Marguleas (Sun World International, LLC); Louis Pandol (Pandol Bros., Inc.); Dean Thonesen (Sunwest Fruit Company, Inc.); Marko S. Zaninovich (Marko Zaninovich, Inc.) and Ryan Zaninovich (V.B. Zaninovich & Sons, Inc.).

Two workshop sessions were held on Monday, March 22 and the first session was titled “The Union of Their Dreams and the 35-year-old Labor Relations Act.” Ms. Miriam Pawel, author and awarding winning journalist, shared her insight about the history of the agricultural labor movement in California and the events that led up to the establishment of the Agricultural Labor Relations Act (ALRA) as well as the current position of agricultural labor unions. Her expertise in the area is detailed in her recently released book “The Union of Their Dreams” of which chronicles the personal views and efforts